Google Blogger vs. WordPress

I have created a blog in both WordPress (this one) and in Blogger – Along the Path to 2.0.

I am trying to decide which I prefer and of course, they each have things I want. One thing I just did on this site using WordPress is to import all my blogs from my Google Blogger blog. That was really handy and a great way to change over to this site if I decide on WordPress.

But one thing I don’t like as well about WordPress is that I can’t seem to get to the underlying code as easily. In Blogger I can view the HTML and I have added the code to add a technorati button to it. It just seems a lot more flexible so far. But on the other hand, one of the biggest things right now for me is looking at my Blog Stats, and WordPress has a whole page dedicated to that and Blogger does not have anything, at least that I have found so far.

I also could not find out how to add widgets (beyond the standard ones) to either of these (excepting the code I put in Blogger). Sean tells me that the reason I can’t do it in WordPress is that I am not hosting my blog. Hopefully I’ll get my own web server one of these days and then I can explore that further. I wonder if it is the same issue in Blogger. I’d love to be able to add new page elements to my Blog and drag and drop them, which is really nice in Blogger and OK in WordPress.

And of course, I am a newbie to both of these systems (and to web page coding in general) so I will learn as I go. I’ve certainly figured out a ton of little things so far. Just like anything, at first everything is time-consuming and difficult. As I figure out some of the basics, it becomes easier.

I would greatly appreciate your comments about which Blog engine you like, and why!

Update: Here is another look at these 2 blog engines. Also, read my next post for info on using Google Analytics for tracking Blogger (was Blogspot).

~Susie

10 Responses to “Google Blogger vs. WordPress”

  1. Dilemma: Wordpress or Blogspot « A World of My Own Says:

    […] :- This is another review by smmellott , Google Blogger vs. WordPress. Check that […]

  2. Mark Ma Says:

    Google blogger is free but Worldpress seems not free, i have to pay for a server, am i right?

  3. nfl jerseys for less Says:

    I really like it when individuals get together and share opinions.
    Great site, stick with it!

  4. Dieter Says:

    Hello, I log on to your blogs daily. Your humoristic style is witty, keep it up!

  5. free website templates Says:

    I know this web site gives quality based posts and other information, is there
    any other website which offers such data in quality?

  6. Aimbot hack Says:

    Excellent article! We are linking to this particularly great post on our website.
    Keep up the great writing.

  7. real money for virtapay currency Says:

    Asking questions are genuinely good thing if you are not understanding anything entirely, however this paragraph gives
    nice understanding even.

  8. psn Says:

    Very interesting details you have mentioned , regards for posting
    . “It’s the soul’s duty to be loyal to its own desires. It must abandon itself to its master passion.” by Rebecca West.

  9. hack a twitter account Says:

    Howdy! This blog post couldn’t be written any better! Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept talking about this. I most certainly will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a very good read. Many thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

John 5 | Official Store

Official online store

All Things Web 2.0

All things web 2.0 and a little more

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

(Point).Oh

Personal thoughts on the future of Libraries; Technology; Multimedia; and the .0 moniker

