Google Blogger vs. WordPress, Blog Wars: Part 1 – The Test

I have recently gotten into blogging and in the process, wanted to determine which blog engine I felt was best. So I created a working blog in the following engines:

You can go take a look at each of these to see how they look.

I have been actively customizing, testing and using the Google blogger blog: Alongthepathto20 and the WordPress.com blog: allthingsweb20 and the wordpress.org blog: clear.bluedei.com.

These 3 were my primary test cases and I have been copying any post I write to each of them. I have also been trying out their different features and seeing what they can and can’t do. So they are all highly customized.

The others I created for testing some particular feature (like redirecting a google blog to a domain name or testing the import feature of wordpress.com) or for trying some of the other, less popular blogs just to compare and see if they had something worth looking at. The vox and livejournal blogs I did very little customizing to. I mostly just set a template and posted a post and poked around.

I also found this one called InstantSpot after my testing. I know nothing about it but may set up a blog on it to test it. Then I’ll update this list with my Instant Spot blog.

I did not test ExpressionEngine, (someone commented they use this but I didn’t look at it, might be a Content Management System) TextPattern,(actually Content Management System) Joomla, (also Content Management System) Windows Live Spaces, or B2Evolution. Nor did I test Drupal, which is considerably more than a blog and worth a whole evaluation of its own (with the other similar tools, like Joomla) Those are actually Content Management Systems so are outside the scope of this test.

So now you have what I used for my testing. Go look at each of these to get a feel for what each is basically like. And stay tuned for “Google Blogger vs. WordPress, Blog Wars: Part 2 – The Results”

~Susan Mellott

2 Responses to “Google Blogger vs. WordPress, Blog Wars: Part 1 – The Test”

  1. CharlesJeter.com » Blog Wars: The Results | Why Help Authors Should Blog Says:

    […] I’m recommending All things Web 2.0 for review for anyone who is approaching Workflow Collaboration with the DevBlog concept. The top free blogging tools which were tested, including Vox, LiveJournal, InstantSpot, Blogger, and several methods of using WordPress (self-hosted or not), in Blog Wars Part One. […]

  2. Aaron Lynch Says:

    Hello Susan,
    My name is Aaron and I am one of two developers/creators/owners of InstantSpot.com. I’m glad to see you have found your way to our network, and its great to be included in your comparison.

    We are just about to reach the end of our first year of operation and are already working on a complete rewrite of the application. (Hopefully due out around the anniversary date-ish).

    If you have any questions/comments you’d like to aim at me, please feel free to “let ‘er rip”

    Not sure if you’ve spent much time in the control panel, or playing with the style of your ‘Spot, but there is another sister-site called ISDX.net (InstantSpot Design Exchange) where users can upload/download/preview styles for their InstantSpot site.

    Thanks,
    Aaron


Leave a Reply

John 5 | Official Store

Official online store

All Things Web 2.0

All things web 2.0 and a little more

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

(Point).Oh

Personal thoughts on the future of Libraries; Technology; Multimedia; and the .0 moniker

